Agar Agar (Grass Jelly)

Question ID: 
194
Ano*** asks:

Question

AslmWrWb Hon Ulamas On occasion of Ramadhan many muslims brothers and sisters used jelly ("La Mousse") Agar Agar. Since this product is originated from China I have a doubt on whether it is Halal or not. Can please advise. Jakazakallah Khair

Answer

Wa alaikumus salaam warahmatullahi wabarakaatuh. Agar Agar itself is of plant origin and therefore halaal for consumption. We do not have any information whether anything haraam is added to it. On the basis of doubt it may not be considered as haraam, however in this case one may abstain from it.