Mentos

Question ID: 
549
zya*** asks:

Question

Recently i got a friend from thailand that gave me mentos fruit sweet and it was written halaal on it and my friend told me that its halaal over there ? can jum please verify ...

Answer

Some flavours like "Grape" "Strawberry Yogurt" "Cherry Yogurt" and "Mixed Fruits Blasts" contain carmine E120 (colour derived from insects) which is Haraam according to Hanafi mazhab. Doubtful emulsifier is also found in some flavours. Therefore abstain.