Is Moir's jelly halaal?

Question ID: 
914

Question

Assalamu'alaykum. Is Moir's jelly halaal? It contains gelatine bovine and certifies halaal. Product from South Africa. Jazakumullah khairan.

Answer

Wa alaikumus salaam. JUM has contacted SANHA (A halal certifying body in South Africa) and their reply is as follows: The product is NOT approved by SANHA as it contains bovine gelatine derived from non-Halaal slaughtered animals. Regarding Bovine gelatine, some Ulama contend that a drastic metamorphic change occurs in the non-Halaal animal material used in gelatine manufacture thereby rendering the impure collagenous protein into Halaal gelatine. Majority of the Ulama and International Halaal certification bodies are of the view that such metamorphic change does NOT occur and therefore they do not accept this view and have adopted a very holistic position on gelatine and other such ingredients of non-Halaal animal origin used in food production. SANHA's Theological Committee holds the latter view and we reiterate that it is not acceptable to use non-Halaal raw material in the manufacture of food products due to the fact that abundance of Halaal raw material is available and Muslims should not look for technical loopholes (metamorphosis etc.) to legitimise the use of raw materials sourced from Haraam animals in food production. Therefore SANHA recommends that all products containing non-Halaal gelatine be avoided.